Teams Confirmed For Inaugural Seymour Law Cup

Division 1 grand finalist Bentleigh and reigning Division 3 premiers Mount Waverley are among the eight teams that will compete in the inaugural Seymour Law Cup next month.

The League’s new preseason competition will see teams from clubs across the three senior divisions split into two pools of four teams, with the Demons and the Mountain Lions grouped into Pool A.

Division 3 Preliminary Finalist Doveton Eagles and Hampton (Division 2) have also been drawn into Pool A, which will play its matches on Monday nights at Springvale Reserve.

Pool B will be an all Division 3 affair, with Hallam, Lyndhurst, Dandenong and Carrum Patterson Lakes set to do battle on Wednesday nights.

The clubs have been pooled based on relative strength, which is hoped will create competitive matches between the sides.

Each team will play the other three in its pool once during the first three weeks of competition, while ladder positions will determine the fixture for the final week, with the top two ranked teams to face off for the inaugural Seymour Law Cup and $3000 winner's purse.

SFNL General Manager Operations Adam Sparrow said that the competition is an exciting new concept that could have long-term benefits for the League.

“It’ll be exciting to see teams from across all three divisions pitted against each other come March. Early indication is that many teams expect to blood new players and young talent, which will bode well for our competition’s future and make for an exciting precursor to the season proper,” Sparrow said.

The Seymour Law Cup will also see several modified rules take effect. Quarter lengths will be reduced to 15 minutes to allow for two matches to be played per night, while teams will be restricted to 16 players on the field in a trial for the first two weeks of competition.

Coaches and captains will be engaged to provide feedback on the 16-a-side concept.

For more info on the Seymour Law Cup CLICK HERE.




Bentleigh Carrum Patterson Lakes
Doveton Eagles Dandenong
Hampton Hallam
Mount Waverley Lyndhurst

League Partners