SFNL Women's Football Round 14 Preview

Women's Finals' Series Breakfast Facebook A

The 2017 SFNL Women’s Football Team of the Year will be announced at the inaugural SFNL Women’s Finals Series Breakfast next Friday morning! For more info and to book your tickets, click here.

By Jarryd McGuane


Edithvale Aspendale 0.0 (0) defeated by Bentleigh 6.9 (45)

Bentleigh finished the season with their best performance of the year in the game of the round, with a 45-point defeat of Edithvale Aspendale at Glen St Reserve on Saturday.

The defence of Demons was at their suffocating best as they held Edi-Asp scoreless for the duration of the game.

Bentleigh were off to a fast start with three goals in the first quarter and added one more to lead by 26 points at half time.

A goal in each of the final two quarters and the game was secured.

Christalee Davies was the Demons’ best, with strong support from Emma Baker, Chelsea Hopper (three goals) and Ellie Hearne (two goals)

Gemma Proy, Bridie Kelly and Jennifer Allinson were Edi-Asp’s best in an ugly defeat.


Highett 5.6 (36) defeated Lyndhurst 4.5 (29)

Highett goes into the finals in winning form after defeating their first final opponent Lyndhurst by nine points at Turner Road Reserve on Friday night.

The Bulldogs took a seven-point lead into quarter time and extended the margin to nine points at half time.

Lyndhurst were held to one behind in the third quarter as they saw the deficit grow to 20 points before the Lightning came home with a wet sail.

They held Highett goalless in the last quarter but could only add two of the required three goals as they fell short in the end.

Hannah Bowey, Ally Gilchrist, Muriel Watkins and Zoe Rossiter (four goals) led the way for the Bulldogs.

Jess O’Connell, Melody Bryant and Biannaka Hazelden was the Lightning’s best as they shared their four goals around.


Murrumbeena 3.8 (26) defeated East Brighton 2.8 (20)

Murrumbeena will carry their undefeated record into the finals as they defeated East Brighton by six points at Murrumbeena Park on Saturday.

Both sides struggled with inaccuracy, with the extra goal for Beena being the difference.

Danielle Wearne, Margaret Taylor, Lauren Wolf and Shanae Carter (two goals) were Murrumbeena’s most influential players.

Sarah Burren, Isabelle Catrice and Aish Ravi kept the Vampires in the game.


Mordialloc 3.5 (23) defeated by Oakleigh District 4.7 (31)

Mordialloc will enter finals on the back of two straight losses as they were upset by Oakleigh District by eight points at Ben Kavanagh Reserve.

Oakleigh District led the Bloods by 11 points at three quarter time after hold Mordialloc to one goal in three quarters.

Mordialloc two goals in the last quarter but it was not enough as the Oaks steadied with one goal to seal the victory.

Jess Szalek has maintained her fine form with a best on ground performance, supported by Grace Mckinley (three goals), Jodie Bray and Alexandra Rowledge.

Nat Cardamone played a lone hand up forward with three goals, as Tanya Rosenquist, Megan Tymko and Kate Hills also kept the Bloods in the game.


Hallam 7.3 (45) defeated Endeavour Hills 4.9 (33)

Hallam made sure they will be replaying Endeavour Hills in finals as they defeated the Falcons by 12 points at Hallam Reserve.

It was inaccuracy which would ultimately be to blame as Endeavour Hills ended up with more scoring shots in the loss.

Tamisha Gersbeck was Hallam’s leading goal kicker with two goals.

Endeavour Hills were led Megan Savage, Jennifer Dean and Stacey Johnson though in defeat.

League Partners