Lawry claims back-to-back Ellis Medals

Bentleigh captain Scott Lawry reaffirmed his standing as the preeminent player in the SFNL by taking out the League’s highest individual honour, the Ellis Medal, at last night’s Annual Awards Dinner.

Lawry polled 28 votes, including eight best on grounds, to be crowned the fairest and best player in Division 1 Senior competition for the second consecutive year after tying with St Pauls’ Liam Wilson in 2015.

Clayton’s star halfback, Andrew Ray, finished runner up on 23 votes, while Oakleigh District veteran Paul Fermanis rounded out the top three with 19 votes.

The Demons champion becomes just the fourth player in League history to win the coveted Division 1 medal for a second time, and the first back-to-back winner since SFNL Hall of Famer and fellow Bentleigh luminary David Martin won three in a row from 1997-99.

The win was also Lawry’s fourth League Best & Fairest in five years following his two consecutive Division 2 awards in 2012-13.

Earlier, Chelsea Heights jet Jordan Peryman blitzed the field to claim the Division 2 Bennett Medal with a stunning tally of 33 votes.

The speedy ball-magnet earned a phenomenal nine best on grounds to finish a staggering 15 votes clear atop the best and fairest leaderboard.

Exciting Port Colts teenager Mitch Clarke and ineligible Caulfield midfielder Tom Heagney tied for second place on 18 votes each.

Doveton Eagles coach Corrie Wilson held on to win the Division 3 Flack Medal by just one vote in a thrilling count.

Wilson tallied 20 votes and, despite not polling in the final round, survived a late charge from runners up Cedric LeGrand (Endeavour Hills), Manny Peresso (Hallam) and four-time winner Jarrod Wilkin (Mount Waverley), who each finished on 19 votes.

It has been a long time between drinks for Wilson, who previously won the Division 3 Best & Fairest back in 2004.

St Pauls’ Connor Byrne polled 25 votes to win the Under 19 Sparrow Medal by one vote ahead of leading goalkicker Mykelti Lefau (St Kilda City). Oakleigh District’s Liam McCabe finished third on 20 votes, but didn’t go home empty handed as he scooped the Leader Shooting Star award.

In the netball, Heatherton super shooter Rahni Samason came from behind to tie with last year’s winner Alicia Wise (Dingley) for the Division 1 Best & Fairest.

The pair polled 19 votes each to finish five ahead of runner up Zali Mifsud (Heatherton) on 14 votes.

Wise held a five-vote lead heading into Round 14, but failed to poll in the final two games as Samason drew level with a best on court in the last round.

The Dingoes captain becomes the only person to have earned two Netball Division 1 Best & Fairest awards.

League leading goalshooter Grace Healey (St Pauls) polled 18 votes to win the Division 2 Best & Fairest by the barest of margins ahead of Carrum Patterson Lakes’ Juliana Bedggood.

Heatherton’s Mandy Quinn also earned a spot in the podium, polling 15 votes.

Clayton’s Tahkara O’Sei won the medal in Division 3 with 17 votes, while Gemma Reynolds (Dingley Two), Olivia Selbst (Dingley One) and Daniela Tomaselli (Mordialloc One) each polled 15 votes in a three-way tie for the Under 19 Best & Fairest.



Ellis Medal (Division 1 Senior Best & Fairest): Scott Lawry (Bentleigh)

Bennett Medal (Division 2 Senior Best & Fairest): Jordan Peryman (Chelsea Heights)

Flack Medal (Division 3 Senior Best & Fairest): Corrie Wilson (Doveton Eagles)

Sparrow Medal (Under 19 Best & Fairest): Connor Byrne (St Pauls)

Division 1 Reserve Most Valuable Player: Kade Murphy (Bentleigh)

Division 2 Reserve Most Valuable Player: Philip Karaminovski (Port Melbourne Colts)

Division 3 Reserve Most Valuable Player: Adam Strelec (South Yarra)

Thirds Most Valuable Player: Corey Dyson (Cerberus)



Division 1 Senior: Calhan McQueen (Dingley) – 64 goals

Division 2 Senior: Phil Smith (Chelsea Heights) – 58 goals

Division 3 Senior: James Gough (Mount Waverley) – 101 goals

Under 19: Mykelti Lefau (St Kilda City) – 69 goals

Division 1 Reserve: Leigh Moore (Dingley) – 65 goals

Division 2 Reserve: Mathew Poore (Skye) – 82 goals

Division 3 Reserve: Andrew Meredith (Mount Waverley) – 56 goals

Thirds: Matthew McCormick (Sandown Cobras) – 52 goals


Division 1 Best & Fairest: Alicia Wise (Dingley) and Rahni Samason (Heatherton)

Division 2 Best & Fairest: Grace Healey (St Pauls)

Division 3 Best & Fairest: Tahkara O’Sei (Clayton)

Under 19 Best & Fairest: Daniela Tomaselli (Mordialloc One), Gemma Reynolds (Dingley Two) and Olivia Selbst (Dingley One)

Division 4 Best & Fairest: Laura Kilfoyle (Dingley)

Division 5 Best & Fairest: Kristy Loyd (Heatherton)

Division 6 Best & Fairest: Melissa Mair (Lyndhurst)

Division 7 Best & Fairest: Kristy Blackman (Bentleigh)

Division 8 Best & Fairest: Antoinette Lemana (Dandenong)


Leading Goalshooters

Division 1: Sophie O’Shea (Caulfield) – 476 goals

Division 2: Grace Healey (St Pauls) – 355 goals

Division 3: Alana Cooper (Dingley) – 328 goals

Under 19: Sarah Heenan (Dingley Two) – 160 goals

Division 4: Chelsea McAndrew (Heatherton White) – 210 goals

Division 5: Steffanie Poort (Black Rock) – 360 goals

Division 6: Melissa Mair (Lyndhurst) – 370 goals

Division 7: Rachel Saunders (Bentleigh) – 238 goals

Division 8: Beth Miller (Cheltenham) – 340 goals


Chairman’s Award

Julie Pool (Springvale & District Netball Association)


Leader Shooting Star

Liam McCabe (Oakleigh District)


Westfield Netballer of the Year

Zali Mifsud (Heatherton)


Club Champions

Division 1: Dingley (524 points)

Division 1: Heatherton (438 points)

Division 3: South Yarra (250 points)

League Partners