Kreymborg Crowned Top Dog

St Pauls star Matt Kreymborg capped a stellar 2017 season by taking out the SFNL's highest individual honour, the Ellis Medal,  at the Annual Awards Dinner on Friday night.

The former Sandringham Zebras star polled 18 votes to be crowned the Division 1 competition's fairest and best player, four votes clear of runners up Scott Lawry (Bentleigh), Jackson Peet (Dingley) and Sean McLaren (Cheltenham).

Earlier,  Mount Waverley teenager Jackson Smith took out the Division 2 Bennett Medal, polling 23 votes in a thrilling count.

After entering the final round of voting locked in a three way tie with Keysborough big man Chris Bryan and Murrumbeena jet Liam Wilson, Smith secured two votes in his side's loss to the Beena to finish one vote clear of Bryan and two ahead of Wilson.

Hallam midfielder Phil Ward was a runaway winner of the Division 3 Flack Medal, finishing nine vote clear of Doveton Eagles premiership captain Corrie Wilson and CPL ball magnet Paul Mauracher.

Murrumbeena star Shanae Carter polled 22 votes to be crowned the inaugural Women's Football Best & Fairest, with Mordialloc's Stephanie Sandoval and Highett's Hannah Bowey rounding out the top three, while Cheltenham's Anthony Malamas took honm the Under 19 Sparrow Medal ahead of St Kilda City's Ayang Nyanjok.

In the netball, Heeatherton super shooter Rahni Samason polled 22 votes to claim her second consecutive Division 1 Best & Fairest, eight votes clear of Caulfield's Sophie O'Shea.

The win capped a great night for Samason, who also won the Div 1 Leading Goalshooter Award with 351 goals.

Fellow Tonner Courtney Weiske was crowned the fairest and best player in Division 2, polling 16 votes to finish two clear of Bear Brodie Aumont, while Keysborough's Brea Vieceli took out the Netball Division 3 gong.




Ellis Medal (Division 1 Senior Best & Fairest): Matt Kreymborg (St Pauls)

Bennett Medal (Division 2 Senior Best & Fairest): Jackson Smith (Mount Waverley)

Flack Medal (Division 3 Senior Best & Fairest): Phil Ward (Hallam)

Sparrow Medal (Under 19 Best & Fairest): Anthony Malamas (Cheltenham)

Women's Football Best & Fairest: Shanae Carter (Murrumbeena)

Division 1 Reserve Most Valuable Player: Nick Lloyd (Dingley)

Division 2 Reserve Most Valuable Player: Shane Dunn (Keysborough)

Division 3 Reserve Most Valuable Player: Cameron Parker (Hallam)

Thirds Most Valuable Player: Adam Quinn (Cerberus)


Division 1 Senior: Calhan McQueen (Dingley) – 71 goals

Division 2 Senior: Phil Smith (Chelsea Heights) – 60 goals

Division 3 Senior: Trevor Kumetaitis (Lyndale) – 65 goals

Under 19: Jordan Waite (Parkmore / Springvale Districts) – 50 goals

Women's Football: Alesha Neil and Natalie Cardamone (both Mordialloc) – 35 goals

Division 1 Reserve: Peter Rizzi (Dingley) – 41 goals

Division 2 Reserve: Mathew Poore (Skye) – 71 goals

Division 3 Reserve: Mitchell Rossborough (Ashwood) – 51 goals

Thirds: Clint Jarrett (Endeavour Hills) – 46 goals


Division 1 Best & Fairest:  Rahni Samason (Heatherton Black)

Division 2 Best & Fairest: Courtney Weiske (Heatherton)

Division 3 Best & Fairest: Brea Vieceli (Keysborough)

Division 4 Best & Fairest: Yvette Lippold (St Kilda City)

Division 5 Best & Fairest: Kimberley Harrison (Skye)

Division 6 Best & Fairest: Annalise Flarve (Heatherton)

Division 7 Best & Fairest: Nicole Hill (Oakleigh District)

Division 8 Best & Fairest: Sharni Robinson (Keysborough) and Alice Wright (Mordialloc)

Leading Goalshooters

Division 1: Rahni Samason (Heatherton Black) – 351 goals

Division 2: Sophie Bartlett (Heatherton) – 507 goals

Division 3: Alana Cooper (Dingley) – 275 goals

Division 4: Bianca Waras-Carstensen (Dingley Gold) – 321 goals

Division 5: Verity Sheppard (Heatherton) – 526 goals

Division 6: Megan Piper (Dingley Gold) – 289 goals

Division 7: Jessica Cook (CPL) – 274 goals

Division 8: Rebecca Mastrioanni (Keysborough) – 259 goals


Chairman’s Award

Rodd Johnson (SFLUA)


Leader Shooting Star

Moevao Lega Frost (Parkmore / Springvale Districts)


Laser Clinics Australia Netballer of the Year

Makayla Bulte (Caulfield)


Club Champions

Division 1: Dingley (722 points)

Division 1: Heatherton (434 points)

Division 3: Hallam (298 points)

League Partners