Women's Grand Final Review

By Jarryd McGuane





Murrumbeena 7.17 (59) defeated Oakleigh District 4.3 (27)

The amazing first season of the SFNL Women’s came to an end with Murrumbeena completing the perfect undefeated season with the 32-point defeat of Oakleigh District in the Grand Final at Jack Barker Oval.

Murrumbeena had been the class of the competition but they were made to work for it on the final day of the season.

Beena had the best of the early play with 2.3 but allowed the Oaks to get on the board with 1.0 to see the margin sit at nine points at quarter time.

Oakleigh District took the momentum in the second quarter, allowing three behinds, while kicking 1.2 of their own to trail by four points at half time.

The momentum would again change hands after half time with Murrumbeena’s 2.3 to Oakleigh District’s 1.1, giving Beena a 12-point lead at the final change, but leaving the game in the balance.

The Oaks would again only manage one goal in the last quarter, with Murrumbeena dominating and only inaccuracy keeping the final margin down.

Murrumbeena captain Grace Bibby was named best on the ground for the Grand Final, ably assisted by Jasmyn Brandon, Alice Kovess, Emma Morison, Rebecca Niclasen and Lauren Wolf.

Bibby and Aisling Muir led the Murrumbeena forward line with two goals each as singles were added by Kovess, Brandon and Danielle Wearne.

SFNL Team of the Year ruck Jess Szalek was Oakleigh District’s best, with Alana Brown, Emily McIntyre, Rebecca Adams, Rachel McNamara and Lexy Amzavas battling hard in defeat.

McIntyre remained Oakleigh District’s best avenue to goal, accounting for all four of their goals.

League Partners