Wilson and Lawry Share 2015 Ellis Medal

St Pauls jet Liam Wilson and Bentleigh stalwart Scott Lawry have shared the SFNL’s highest individual prize, the Ellis Medal, after one of the most exciting vote counts in recent history at tonight’s Annual Awards Dinner.

The pair polled 22 votes each to be awarded the medal for Division 1’s best and fairest players, six votes clear of runner-up Aaron Purvis (St Kilda City).

East Malvern ruckman Matt Terech finished third on 15 votes.

Coincidentally, Bentleigh hosted St Pauls in the final round of the home and away season, which set up a fascinating showdown between the two veteran playmakers for the medal, with Lawry holding a one vote lead heading into the final round.

Lawry polled one vote in this match while Wilson polled the two in his team’s 27-point victory to ensure the Division 1 award was tied for the second time in league history.

This is Lawry’s first Ellis Medal after previously claiming two Division 2 Best & Fairests, while Wilson becomes just the third player to win the award for a second time.

Earlier, it was a Keysborough quinella in Division 2, with Geoff Humphreys polling 21 votes to win the Bennett Medal as best and fairest ahead of Burras teammate Tyson King.

King polled 15 votes despite rupturing his ACL in Round 13, while Highett’s Jacob Duscher rounded out the top three with 14 votes.

A best on ground in the final round has given Mount Waverley champion Jarrod Wilkin his fourth Division 3 Best and Fairest.

He polled a total of 21 votes to claim the Flack Medal, pipping Black Rock premiership star Jay Williams by three (18 votes).

Carrum Patterson Lakes’ Adam Lello finished third on 16 votes.

St Pauls’ Matthew Brown took out the Sparrow Medal (Under 19 Best & Fairest) after polling 23 votes to finish four clear of runners-up Madison Talarico (Dingley) and Bunarith Kheng (Hampton).

In the netball, Dingoes captain Alicia Wise was crowned the Division 1 Best & Fairest ahead of Michaela Russo (Bentleigh), while Heatheron’s Bella Riddell and Melissa Cook took out the Division 2 and Division 3 gongs respectively.

There was a three-way tie in the Division 4 Best & Fairest with Tayla McArtney (Dingley), Erin Naismith (Heatherton) and Mary Mati (Keysborough) sharing top billing.

Black Rock’s Sarah Rayment saluted in the Division 5 award while Tenielle Potter (Dandenong) was a runaway winner in Division 6.





Ellis Medal (Division 1 Senior Best & Fairest): Scott Lawry (Bentleigh), Liam Wilson (St Pauls)

Bennett Medal (Division 2 Senior Best & Fairest): Geoff Humphreys (Keysborough)

Flack Medal (Division 3 Senior Best & Fairest): Jarrod Wilkin (Mount Waverley)

Sparrow Medal (Under 19 Best & Fairest): Matthew Brown (St Pauls)

Division 1 Reserve Most Valuable Player: Kane Davidson (Dingley)

Division 2 Reserve Most Valuable Player: Chris Smith (Skye)

Division 3 Reserve Most Valuable Player: Adam Strelec (South Yarra)

Thirds-Blue Most Valuable Player: Blake Lee (Cerberus)

Thirds-Red Most Valuable Player: Tommy Ho (Sandown Cobras)



Division 1 Best & Fairest: Alicia Wise (Dingley)

Division 2 Best & Fairest: Bella Riddell (Heatherton)

Division 3 Best & Fairest: Melissa Cook (Heatherton)

Division 4 Best & Fairest: Tayla McArtney (Dingley), Erin Naismith (Heatherton), Mary Mati (Keysborough)

Division 5 Best & Fairest: Sarah Rayment (Black Rock)

Division 6 Best & Fairest: Tenielle Potter (Dandenong)



Division 1 Senior: Mark Ryan (East Malvern) – 65 goals

Division 2 Senior: David Velardo (Oakleigh District) – 61 goals

Division 3 Senior: Trevor March (Carrum Patterson Lakes) – 86 goals

Under 19: Madison Talarico (Dingley) – 101 goals

Division 1 Reserve: Mitchell Stevens (Cheltenham), Leigh Moore (Dingley) – 61 goals

Division 2 Reserve: Mathew Poore (Skye) – 93 goals

Division 3 Reserve: William Kruss (Moorabbin Kangaroos) – 46 goals

Thirds-Blue: Josh Keyt (Dingley) – 63 goals

Thirds-Red: Matthew McCormick (Sandown Cobras) – 51 goals


Chairman’s Award

Nick MacMillan (Black Rock)


Leader Shooting Star

Madison Talarico (Dingley)



Click on the competition below to view the round by round voting.



Division 1 Senior Voting

Division 2 Senior Voting

Division 3 Senior Voting

Under 19 Voting

Division 1 Reserve Voting

Division 2 Reserve Voting

Division 3 Reserve Voting

Thirds-Blue Voting

Thirds-Red Voting



Netball Division 1 Voting

Netball Division 2 Voting

Netball Division 3 Voting

Netball Division 4 Voting

Netball Division 5 Voting

Netball Division 6 Voting

League Partners