2013 has been a successful year for football umpiring in the Southern Football League. On Wednesday night over 200 people celebrated the season at the SFL Umpires Association / SFL Umpiring Department Annual Awards and Grand Finals Appointments Night.


Director of Umpiring for the Southern Football League, Peter Mair, thanked all stakeholders across the league who assisted with delivery of the umpiring program, including the SFL Board and Administration, the Umpiring Department coaching and administration team, the SFL Umpires Association, all Umpires, the SFL Coaches Association, Presidents, Coaches, Captains and Players.


A number of Awards were presented during the evening.


AFL Victoria Umpire Development Manager, Neville Nash, presented the Golden Whistle Award to Tane Abbott. The Golden Whistle Award is an encouragement award for an Umpire in the formative stages of their umpiring career, who displays a clear desire to pursue an umpiring career in community and possibly the next level.


First year Umpires, experienced Umpires who assisted new Umpires and Umpires who obtained Level 1 or Level 2 accreditation as part of the National Umpiring Accreditation Scheme, were all recognised.


Peter Martin and Jeff Mark were both recognised by the AFL for their significant contribution to football umpiring.


Paul Shoebridge was awarded the Most Dedicated Umpire, for excellence in preparation and training.


Best First Year Umpire awards went to Kai Allison (Field), James Montgomerie (Boundary) and John Huang (Goal).


Troy Wood (Field), Sean Geaney (Boundary) and Tayla Manning / Adele Wickenden (Goal) won awards for Most Improved Umpires.


Jason Hamilton won the prestigious Graeme Bertram Award which is a combined Umpiring Department / Umpires Association Award for excellence on the field and for making a major contribution to the Umpires Association off the field.


Best Clubman was awarded to Kevin Mitchell.


Games milestones were recognised, together with five Umpires being awarded life membership of the SFL Umpires Association.


The evening concluded with the announcement of the 2013 Grand Final Umpires across all grades.


2013_Grand Final Umpires

League Partners