SFNL Welcomes Lyndhurst Lightning

The Southern Football Netball League (SFNL) Board has approved a new club application from the Lyndhurst Football & Netball Club (LFNC).

The SFNL Administration and Football Operations Portfolio met with representatives from the LFNC on multiple occasions throughout the year, to carefully assess their application to join the SFNL.

The LFNC will be graded into Division 3 in 2016, with 12 clubs in total making up the Division 3 competition.

Located in the south east region, SFNL Chief Executive Officer David Cannizzo said he has great confidence the club will thrive in its community.

“Throughout the submission process, LFNC have been extremely impressive and their application provides confidence that the club will be working hard to be a strong force in their community,” Cannizzo said.

“Allowing the club to enter Division 3 means they will be able to find their competitive balance while also enjoying local derbies with many neighbouring clubs.”

Excited for the future of their club, LFNC president Andrew King explained that the process to venture into senior ranks has been a long term vision of the club since its inception.

“The decision to approach SFNL was made during the year as being the best fit for the club. We have been very active in our community and had tremendous support from our local council – City of Casey,” King said.

“We have had 50 register their interest to this point to play and this final league approval stage will give us further momentum moving towards the season start.

“We look forward to some local rivalry and building some great, competitive relationships with other local SFNL clubs. The support and guidance from the SFNL has been invaluable in ensuring the longevity of the club and teams as a whole. We see Division 3 as a great starting point for our senior team under the guidance of our coach Patrick Cooke.”

Clubs by Division in Season 2016 are as follows:


Division 1 (10 teams)





East Brighton

East Malvern


Oakleigh District

St Kilda City

St Pauls


Division 2 (11 teams)

Black Rock


Chelsea Heights






Port Melbourne Colts


Springvale Districts


Division 3 (12 teams)


Carrum Patterson Lakes


Doveton Eagles

Endeavour Hills




Moorabbin Kangaroos

Mount Waverley

Sandown Cobras

South Yarra

League Partners