SFNL Hall of Fame 2015

Wednesday night’s inaugural Southern Football Netball League Hall of Fame celebration was a wildly successful evening.

More than 200 people flocked to the Sandy by the Bay to witness 22 outstanding men become immortalised as the first crop of inductees into the SFNL Hall of Fame.

The men were honoured for their tremendous contributions to the SFNL and its precursor competitions – the Federal Football League, the South East Suburban Football League and the Eastern Suburbs Churches Football Association – in capacities as players, coaches, administrators and volunteers.

SFNL Chairman, Mark Seymour, was the driving force behind the establishment of the League’s Hall of Fame and praised each inductee for their work in helping the League flourish.

“It’s terrific that these men have been rewarded for their services to these competitions because their contributions have helped made the Southern Football Netball League what it is today,” Seymour said.

It was a certainly an emotional night. The comradery among all the inductees was evident, as old friends had the chance to catch up for the first time in many years.

But the overwhelming feeling throughout the room was pride – not only in the inductees’ incredible achievements, but also in the league itself – a fact that was not lost on Seymour.

“The Hall of Fame celebration showed just what the Southern Football Netball League and its precursor competitions mean to these inductees and what sort of impact these leagues have had on their lives,” he said.

Congratulations to all of last night’s inductees: Stephen Barnes (SFNL), Wally Beckwith (FFL), John Bennett (SFNL), Ian ‘Rabbit’ Birkett (ESCFL), Bob Bray (SFNL), Garry Cranny (SFNL), David Folley (ESCFL), Ashley ‘Tom’ Goodes (SFNL), Con Gorozidis (SFNL), Kevan ‘Icy’ Hamilton (FFL), Bruce Hill (SFNL), Jim Honey (ESCFL), Stan Le Lievre (SESFL), Neil Lockhart (SFNL), Dennis Malcolm (SESFL), David Martin (SFNL), Peter Martin (SFNL), Jim Meneilly (ESCFL), Darrell Molloy (FFL), Bill Ostle (FFL), Robert Spaulding (SESFL) and Ted Woods (SESFL)


For more information on all of the inaugural Hall of Fame inductees CLICK HERE.



All of the Hall of Fame inductees pose with their plaques.


John Bennett and Con Gorozidis catch up with their Under 17s coach at East Brighton, Ted Woods.


Burwood United legends Jim Honey and Ian 'Rabbit' Birkett show off their awards.


SFNL Vice Chairman Garry Cranny receives his plaque from Chairman Mark Seymour.


Bruce Hill receives his award from Mark Seymour.


A delighted Kevan 'Icy' Hamilton after receiving his plaque from Mark Seymour.


Mark Seymour and Steve Barnes are all smiles.


The two best moustaches in the SFNL - Rob Spaulding and Mark Seymour.


Peter Martin shows off his plaque.

League Partners