Move over Cometti and McAvaney, it’s time for Hampton and Takemura!


The SFL radio broadcast team has been awarded the ‘Best Radio Match Day Coverage’ at the AFL Victoria Community Media Awards.


In taking out the award, the SFL broadcast team beat the likes of other quality nominees in the VAFA, Eastern FL, Essendon DFL, Northern FL, One FM 98.5, and 3WayFM.


Executive Producer Rob Sharpe and his team of David Hampton, John Takemura, Ian Dougherty, Karl Bianco, Kevin Cummins and technical director Jackson Rogers once again had a terrific year heading up the SFL ‘Match of the Round’ team each week, and the award certainly goes some way in recognising the hard work they have all put in over the year.


Speaking at the Awards lunch in front of a packed house, Executive Producer Rob Sharpe said he was delighted to accept the award with his team.


"The SFL has made a conscious effort to really bolster its radio coverage, both with match of the round broadcasts and its Sunday Radio Show."


"The feedback we've had from our community has been great, which is what's most important, but to win a coveted award such as this is really humbling and a great reward for the work the team puts in, not just on match day, but in its research leading up to match day."


League Partners