Hall of Fame

SFNL Hall of Fame

The Southern Football Netball League Hall of Fame has been established to acknowledge and celebrate persons who have made significant contributions to the SFNL or the forerunners of the SFNL, being the Federal Football League, Eastern Suburbs Churches Football Association and South East Suburban Football League.

To be nominated as an inductee for the Hall of Fame, the nominee must have demonstrated attributes including longevity, quality of performance, integrity, sportsmanship, good character and promoted the values of the SFNL or its forerunners. Nominees may be living or deceased.

There are seven categories under which an individual may be considered for induction into the Hall of Fame. They are player, administrator, official, coach, umpire, media or lifetime achiever.

Persons may be nominated by completing the following SFNL Hall of Fame Criteria and Nomination Form.


Our journalists have profiled every person inducted into the SFNL Hall of Fame. Click on each inductee’s name to read their story.


2016 Inductees

Kingsley Ellis

David Luttrell 

Garry Matlock

Mark Seymour

Ken Shaw

Margaret Torpy


2015 Inductees

Stephen Barnes

To watch ‘The Steve Barnes Story‘ video special CLICK HERE.

Wally Beckwith

John Bennett

To watch ‘The John Bennett Story‘ video special CLICK HERE.

Ian ‘Rabbit’ Birkett

Bob Bray

Garry Cranny

David Folley

Ashley ‘Tom’ Goodes

Con Gorozidis

Kevan ‘Icy’ Hamilton

Bruce Hill

Jim Honey

Stan Le Lievre

Neil Lockhart

Dennis Malcolm

David Martin

Peter Martin

Jim Meneilly

Darrell Molloy

Bill Ostle

Robert Spaulding

Ted Woods