Leader Shooting Star


Each week a player from the Australian Rules Football College Under 19 competition is awarded the Leader Shooting Star of the Week and will receive a Leader Shooting Star certificate and a Sportsmart voucher.


Round 4

Jake Winn

JAKE WINN (Oakleigh District)

Oakleigh managed a 55-point turnaround to win by 25 and Jake Winn was instrumental in this occurring. Winn kicked three goals in his side’s vital away win as they moved into the top six with a 2-2 win-loss record. Moreover, his performance ensured a win under difficult circumstances and it’s because of his ability to lift his team in pressure situations that Winn has been awarded the Shooting Star of the Week Award.

Congratulations, Jake!


Round 3

James Gascard


Gascard is the second Hammers player to win the award after a brilliant performance under tough conditions on the weekend. The ball magnet played a crucial role in his side’s four-point victory over Oakleigh with his second half heroics ensuring Hampton remain undefeated after the opening three rounds.

Congratulations, James!


Round 2

Josh Vitiritti


Vitiritti was a standout of Round 2 after slotting four goals for the Hammers in a comfortable win. Although it was a team effort, Vitirriti was a key component of Hampton’s victory ultimately propelling them into the top four following the 114-point win. His ability to extract the ball from contested situations, as well as making himself extremely useful on the outside, are some of the main reasons he has been selected for the award.

Congratulations, Josh!


Round 1

Paul Pekaj

PAUL PEKAJ (St Kilda City)

Pekaj is the second weekly winner of 2016 and was an obvious selection after slotting 5 goals for the Saints last weekend. The forward was instrumental in his side’s 67-point victory with support from Jesse Firebrace and Jackson O’Hehir-Vargas. In a team which includes multiple premiership stars, Pekaj’s effort hasn’t gone unnoticed as he was the clear standout and is very deserving of the award. It will be interesting to see if he maintains his consistency in the upcoming rounds but there is no doubting his ability.

Congratulations, Paul!


Season Launch

Ryan Kreymborg


Kreymborg is the first nominee of the league’s prestigious Leader Shooting Star of the year award following his standout performance against Dingley in their mammoth 114-point victory. The sharpshooter slotted 6 goals including an incredible left-footed snap during the second term to send the crowd into raptures which ultimately demoralised the Dingoes. While the team put on an extraordinary opening display, Kreymborg proved to be the standout and it will be interesting to see how he continues to develop his skills and leadership over the course of the season.

Congratulations, Ryan!